Kite Surf Pro Ireland Aer Lingus Looks To Commence Tomorrow

Achill Island, Ireland – October 20, 2012: Wind and swell maps are calling for a potentially ideal scenario of strong winds and large surf starting early Sunday morning, day 3 of the 10 day holding period of the Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro Ireland. Preparations are underway for a long day of competition tomorrow.

Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro Ireland Looks To Commence Tomorrow

Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro Ireland Looks To Commence Tomorrow

“Local riders like Ryan Coote are saying that this is exactly the type of forecast they normally look for,” said KSP live stream commentator Ben Meyer. “We anticipate starting the contest as early as possible tomorrow to take advantage of the expected conditions.”

KSP riders kept busy today at Keel Beach, Achill Island’s most popular kite spot, where a small expression session was held for local media and the public to get a glimpse of what can be expected when the main competition begins. On the men’s side, Matchu Almeida Lopez (CPV, North) took the win with a big un-hooked full rotation 360 over Keahi De Aboitiz (AUS, Cabrinha) and Airton Cozzolino (ITA, North). Kari Schibevaag (NOR, Ozone) took the win over fellow female competitors Milla Ferreira (BRA) and Lilian Malschaert (NED) with a big strapless air.

An earlier than usual riders meeting will be held tomorrow morning in hopes of getting the event started without delay. Tune in to at 9:30am Ireland time for a first possible start of Men’s Round 1.


The Aer Lingus Kite Surf Pro 2012, organized by Freeride Ireland, sponsored by Aer Lingus, ION Essentials, Pure Magic, Hertz, Achill Tourism, Cully & Sully, IKSA, Leader, NDP, EAFRD, SW Mayo Development, DECLG and as well as The Strand Hotel and the Teach Cruachan B&B.
Heat 1: Patri McLaughlin (HI, North), Luke McGillewie (RSA, RRD), Ryan Coote (IRL)
Heat 2: Mitu Monteiro (CPV, F-One), Juan Pablo Diban (CHI), Jakop Appel (DEN)
Heat 3: Mauricio Pedreira (BRA), Lee Harvey (GBR, North), Pedro Henrique (BRA, Best)
Heat 4: Guilly Brandao (BRA), Gonzalo Gomes (POR), Keith McGeown (IRL)
Heat 5: Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Matchu Almeida (CPV, North), Cameron Biehl (USA)
Heat 6: Filippe Ferreira (BRA), Bastien Bollard (FRA), Mark Moore (CAN)
Heat 7: Sky Solbach (USA, North), Etienne Lhote (FRA, F-One), Abel Lago (ESP, RRD),
Heat 8: Airton Cozzolino (ITA, North), Keahi De Aboitiz, (AUS, Cabrinha), Mark Barry (IRL)

Heat 1: Ninja Bichler (GER, North), Suzanne Kuiper (NED, F-One), Celina Guardati (ARG)
Heat 2: Ines Correia (POR, RRD), Melissa Gil (USA, Cabrinha), Jade O’Connor (IRL)
Heat 3: Kirsty Jones (GBR, North), Kristin Boese (GER, Best), Kari Schibevaag (NOR, Ozone)
Heat 4: Milla Ferreira (BRA), Jalou Langeree (NED, Naish), Lilian Malschaert (NED)