Ho’okipa Kite Surf Pro KSP Third Consecutive Lay Day Maui Hawaii

Kahului, Hawaii – December 1, 2012: Contest officials have declared another lay day for the final event of the 2012 KSP World Championship tour, the Ho’okipa Kite Surf Pro. All signs point to an improving wind forecast for early next week.

Ho'okipa Kite Surf Pro KSP Third Consecutive Lay Day Maui Hawaii

Ho'okipa Kite Surf Pro KSP Third Consecutive Lay Day Maui Hawaii

“It’s another beautiful day on Maui”, said KSP competitor and live stream commentator Sky Solbach. “The forecast is looking great for waves throughout the rest of the holding period and it looks like the trade winds will return to the islands next week.”

Contest directors will reconvene tomorrow morning to assess conditions and make an official call. Tune in at 9am to watch the live call and morning show at 9am onwww.kspworldtour.com/live.

Check out the Day 2 clip including an interview with Pete Cabrinha 

The Ho’okipa Kite Surf Pro is supported by the County Of Maui, Best Kiteboarding, Cabrinha Kites, Naish Kites, North Kiteboarding, Maui Kitesurfing Community, Eternal Riders, Second Wind, NeilPryde Maui, Maui Beach Hotel, Mana Foods, Whole Foods Maui, Pacific Millworks, Mama’s Fish House and KSP Tour Outfitter ION.


Heat 1: : Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Bastien Bollard (FRA), LWC 1

Heat 2: Mitu Monteiro (CPV, F-One), Sky Solbach (USA, North), Shawn Richman (HI, Naish)

Heat 3: Guilly Brandao (BRA), Matchu Almeida (CPV, North), Grant “Twig” Baker (RSA, Cabrinha)

Heat 4: Airton Cozzolino (ITA, North), Ryan Coote (IRL, Ozone), LWC 2

Heat 5: Luke McGillewie (RSA, RRD), Abel Lago (ESP, RRD), Stephan De Figueiredo (BRA)

Heat 6: Keahi De Aboitiz, (AUS, Cabrinha), Gonzalo Gomes (POR, Naish), Cruser Putman (HI, Cabrinha)

Heat 7: Filippe Ferreira (BRA, F-One), Etienne Lhote (FRA, F-One), Jesse Richman (HI, Naish)

Heat 8: Patri Mclaughlin (HI, North), Jakop Appel (DEN), LWC 3



Heat 1: Ninja Bichler (GER, North), Kristin Boese (GER, Best), Erika Lindberg (SWE)

Heat 2: Ines Correia (POR, RRD), Kari Schibevaag (NOR, Ozone), LWC 1.

Heat 3: Kirsty Jones (GBR, North), Milla Ferreira (BRA, F-One), Adriana Harlan (BRA)

Heat 4: Jalou Langeree (NED, Naish), Melissa Gil (USA, Cabrinha), LWC 2