KSP 5th Consecutive Lay Day Called at Ho’okipa Kite Surf Pro

Kahului, Hawaii – December 3, 2012: Unpredictable Kona Winds prevented a start of the Ho’okipa Kitesurf Pro again this morning. A solid swell forecast and improving wind direction promise contestable conditions as soon as tomorrow and holding strong for the remainder of the competition window.

KSP 5th Consecutive Lay Day Called at Ho'okipa Kite Surf Pro

KSP 5th Consecutive Lay Day Called at Ho'okipa Kite Surf Pro

KSP contest director Ian Ponting states: “It’s unusual for Maui to be windless for long periods of time. The forecast continues to look really promising for the end of the holding period. In the meantime Maui continues to offer amazing surf and hopefully the competitors are still functional in both body and equipment when the real action starts.”

With an outside chance of the trade winds starting to kick in tomorrow, contest officials will reconvene tomorrow morning to assess conditions for a first possible start. Stay tuned for a first possible start and watch the call live on www.kspworldtour.com/live at 9am tomorrow morning.

The Ho’okipa Kite Surf Pro is supported by the County Of Maui, Best Kiteboarding, Cabrinha Kites, Naish Kites, North Kiteboarding, Maui Kitesurfing Community, Eternal Riders, Second Wind, NeilPryde Maui, Maui Beach Hotel, Mana Foods, Whole Foods Maui, Pacific Millworks, Mama’s Fish House and KSP Tour Outfitter ION.


Heat 1: : Sebastian Ribeiro (BRA), Bastien Bollard (FRA), LWC 1

Heat 2: Mitu Monteiro (CPV, F-One), Sky Solbach (USA, North), Shawn Richman (HI, Naish)

Heat 3: Guilly Brandao (BRA), Matchu Almeida (CPV, North), Grant “Twig” Baker (RSA, Cabrinha)

Heat 4: Airton Cozzolino (ITA, North), Ryan Coote (IRL, Ozone), LWC 2

Heat 5: Luke McGillewie (RSA, RRD), Abel Lago (ESP, RRD), Stephan De Figueiredo (BRA)

Heat 6: Keahi De Aboitiz, (AUS, Cabrinha), Gonzalo Gomes (POR, Naish), Cruser Putman (HI, Cabrinha)

Heat 7: Filippe Ferreira (BRA, F-One), Etienne Lhote (FRA, F-One), Jesse Richman (HI, Naish)

Heat 8: Patri Mclaughlin (HI, North), Jakop Appel (DEN), LWC 3



Heat 1: Ninja Bichler (GER, North), Kristin Boese (GER, Best), Erika Lindberg (SWE)

Heat 2: Ines Correia (POR, RRD), Kari Schibevaag (NOR, Ozone), LWC 1.

Heat 3: Kirsty Jones (GBR, North), Milla Ferreira (BRA, F-One), Adriana Harlan (BRA)

Heat 4: Jalou Langeree (NED, Naish), Melissa Gil (USA, Cabrinha), LWC 2

This entry was posted in Competitions, Global, News and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
You may also like...